Love with Food July 2013

Love with Food donated 2 meals per box to Oklahoma’s food banks this month. Awesome!

Watch my unboxing video here! http://youtu.be/7C1Z451gKsk

July’s box:

DSCF4853The theme for July was On The Boardwalk!

DSCF4854

Nature’s Bakery Strawberry Fig Bar: $.60 (as far as I can tell, but that’s if you buy in bulk, so individually, it may be worth a bit more)

This bar is a non-GMO product (certified) and is made with whole wheat. Sounds like a perfect snack for on the go or a quick breakfast!

DSCF4855

2 All Natural Orange Salt Water Taffies from Angel Mint, $.30

Necco Wafer, $.25

I’m super excited to try the first item here! All natural salt water taffy with no artificial colors or flavors? Sign me up! The Necco wafer does have artificial flavors. Boo Love with Food! I know they were trying to give a class throwback boardwalk candy, but it’s not healthy!

DSCF4856Lord Nut Levington Rebel Mary Peanuts, Spicy Bloody Mary, 1 ounce: $.55

These sound very bizarre. I don’t drink, so I’m not sure of the bloody mary flavor, but I’m willing to give it a try!

DSCF4858Uncle Henry’s Handmade Sourdough Pretzel, 1.25 ounces: $.30

This got all smashed up in my box, but I’m sure it’ll be delicious! I saw on the website that this company makes a whole wheat version which I’d love to try!

DSCF4859Twangerz Snack Toppings (Chili Lime, Lime, Pickle, and Lemon Lime flavors): $.30

These will be fun to try out on popcorn or other food/snack items! These are just small packets of flavored salt.

DSCF4857KuKuRuZa Hawaiian Salted Caramel Popcorn: $.50

I am most excited to try these! I love popcorn and especially salt and caramel together. I hope I like it!

DSCF4860

Vermont Smoke and Cure Real Sticks BBQ: $1

This is made with beef raised without antibiotics and is a gluten-free and no preservative product. This is right up my alley!

The total value of the July 2013 box is $4. The value is a little disappointing since I paid $12 for the box, but there was also a $25 gift card to Hello Fresh and Love with Food donated 2 meals this month, so I’m willing to overlook the value difference. Plus, there are a lot of items to try of new products (just not a lot of each item, making the value of each item so low). I’m going to keep Love with Food for another month or so and then decide if I want to ditch it. I hope next month’s box makes up for this month’s low value.

2 thoughts on “Love with Food July 2013

  1. Got the same, only I did not get the gift card. I guess because I live In Oklahoma. Wish they could find an offer good for all states. I could not use the wine card with my first box, as it could not be shipped to Oklahoma. Many complained about not being able to use it. Now they are giving cards and I guess making sure they send them to those able to use them. Hoping they will have something for Oklahoma soon, as the only good thing this month is that they are donating to Oklahoma Food Banks.

    • I actually had to have the wine shipped to a friend who happened to be driving down to my state the next week, because Naked Wines didn’t ship to my state, either. It was annoying and I had to get creative, but I made it work. I haven’t looked at the current gift card offer yet to see if it’s valid in my state. I had the same feeling about the box: nothing was that exciting. The popcorn looks awesome, but there’s hardly any of it in the sample. I hope LWF gets better in August! Thanks for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

